top of page



Selection Criteria

There are a number of professional criteria you would need to fulfil in order to become an accredited Schema therapist with the ISST.

  1. In line with ISST requirements, the minimum entry level for basic and advanced accreditation in Schema Therapy training requires a qualification at Masters level.

  2. You must be licensed to practice within your country.

  3. You will be required to learn Schema Therapy and mode work with clinical cases with considerable complexity.  This will be determined by chronicity, multiple failure to respond to former evidenced based psychotherapeutic treatment and comorbidity; or other issues that contribute to significant difficulty in the interpersonal domain.

  4. To acquire either basic or advanced accreditation both modules need to be completed.

  5. You need to have at least 20 (basic) or 40 (advanced) supervision sessions each 50-60 minutes in length. These may be conducted by telephone, or Skype (or equivalent).  Sessions are typically offered on a weekly to fortnightly basis (over an 18 month to 2-year period)

  6. Three or six session ratings with the Schema therapy Competency Rating Scale are required. Ratings will be scored by an independent rater to your supervisor which can be organised by Academy of Schema Therapy

  7. All Schema Therapy training and supervision in principle needs to be undertaken in a three year time frame. 

babcp logo
HCPC logo
BPS logo
bottom of page